Aggressive Driving

One of my biggest peeves (what’s a stronger word than ‘peeve’?) is aggressive driving.

As far as I’m concerned aggressive drivers are selfish and self-centered people. I can’t assign a political leaning to them but I can observe that drivers from bright blue Washington D.C. and Maryland, tend to be particular aggressive. Local northern Virginians are slightly less-so though folks with Obama stickers on their bumpers, inevitably driving expensive cars, often SUVs and crossover vehicles, do seem to be disproportionately aggressive. That wouldn’t be surprising if it were true since so many liberals believe that laws are for other people, not them.

So today’s story.

It was raining, often heavily, this morning. There had been several accidents in the area, including one in an intersection I would have to go through on my way to work.

So as I was heading down Braddock Road I noticed that a BMW crossover was tailgating me. I was giving the ambulance in front of me plenty of room and I was traveling around the speed limit – as I generally do. And it was lightly raining, the road was very wet.

Eventually a gap opened up to my right and the BMW shot into it and whipped by me, cutting in front of me closely on my front end to demonstrate their disapproval of my driving. There was plenty of room to travel further to cut into the lane.

I was just crushed that the person disapproved of my safe driving.

The BMW then gunned it, zipping up to the ambulance and tailgated it for a mile until the ambulance got into a left turn lane. With some free air the BMW shot forward again, probably doing 50 or so until it rolled up another a car. Of course I’d catch up to the Beemer at each red light.

The BMW eventually pulled into a left turn lane — tailgating the car in front of it as usual. As I continued onward and passed by I looked to see who was driving. I have a fascination at seeing who these morons are. It was a middle-aged woman.

I usually don’t see middle-aged women driving aggressively. They’ll be driving minivans incompetently — distracted on phones or by kids — but are rarely aggressive. The aggressive ones tend to be driving expensive coupes (Lexus, BMW, et al) and have D.C. or Maryland plates.

But my real complaint isn’t women drivers but aggressive drivers, any gender.

What is wrong with you people? Are in that much of a hurry? Are you that special that others must get out of your way or we have to watch out for you but you don’t have to look out for us?

People, we all have to share the road. Show some consideration.

Leave a Reply

